Follow Us On

 2018 Annual Meeting & Awards Luncheon
Thursday, July 19, 2018
Grand Hyatt New York

For over a century, the National Association of Women Lawyers has been empowering women in the legal profession and has acted as the voice of women in the law. In continuing with tradition, this summer we will once again celebrate leaders in our organization and the profession, along with comprehensive and rich workshop programming relevant to women in all fields of legal practice. Join NAWL and over 900 attendees, including outside and in-house counsel, and attorneys from government, military, non-profits, and academia, at the 2018 Annual Awards Luncheon on Thursday, July 19, 2018.

Schedule of Events
*requires "full day" ticket

Wednesday, July 18

Welcome Reception | 5:30 PM - 7:00 PM
Join other Annual Meeting attendees as we meet and network on Wednesday, July 18 at the Grand Hyatt New York.

Thursday, July 19

Networking Breakfast* | 9:30 AM - 10:15 AM
Join us for a networking breakfast to connect with other Annual Meeting attendees including outside and in-house counsel, and attorneys from government, military, non-profits, and academia. Learn more about the Diversity Committee and network with other diverse Annual Meeting attendes in a more intimate setting before the full-day conference kicks off.

Concurrent Workshop Programming* | 10:15 AM - 11:30 AM 
Panel Discussion on Women's Advancement & Diversity
Women in Cybersecurity Panel Discussion

Awards Luncheon | 12:00 PM - 1:45 PM
Join us to celebrate leaders in our organization and profession.

Plenary Programming* | 2:00 PM - 3:15 PM
An Interview with Roberta Kaplan

Plenary Programming* | 3:30 PM - 5:00 PM
"RBG" Screening

NAWL Past President Celebration* | 5:00 PM - 6:30 PM
Before you depart for the day, join us to unwind, debrief your favorite sessions, and network with all of your new contacts and former NAWL presidents!

Click Here to View the Full Agenda>>

Awards Luncheon Information
12:00 PM - 1:45 PM

Welcome & NAWL Presidents' Addresses

Awards Presentation

Arabella Babb Mansfield Award
to Roberta Kaplan in recognition of her professional achievement, positive influence, and valuable contribution to women in the law and in society

M. Ashley Dickerson Award
to Sandra Phillips Rogers, Group Vice President, General Counsel, Chief Legal Officer, and Corporate Secretary of Toyota Motor North America, Inc., in recognition of lawyers who promote diversity

President's Award
to 3M Company for championing policies, programs, and procedures to retain, promote, and advance women attorneys 

Lead By Example Award
to Ben Wilson, Chairman of Beveridge & Diamond, P.C., in recognition of a leading male attorney who supports the advancement of women within his organization

Virginia S. Mueller Outstanding Member Award
recognizing leading NAWL members for their exemplary work and contributions to NAWL - this year we will honor Theresa Baker, Vice President and Associate General Counsel, MetLife, Inc.; Arleen Nand, Partner, DLA Piper LLP; Gigi Rollini, Shareholder, Stearns Weaver Miller Weissler Alhadeff & Sitterson; and Sima Sarrafan, Senior Attorney, Legal and Corporate Affairs, Microsoft


Thank You to Our 2018 Annual Meeting & Awards Luncheon Sponsors



Kilpatrick Townsend & Stockton.jpg     Nelson Mullins.png






Baker Botts.png   Shearman & Sterling.png



Beveridge & Diamond.jpg  Davis & Gilbert.png  Fox Rothschild LLP.jpg FTI Consulting.png 

Gibbons.jpg Robins Kaplan.jpg Sidley.png



Bowman and Brooke.jpg  Bressler, Amery & Ross, P.C..png   Chaffetz Lindsey LLP.png

Fisher & Phillips.jpg Gray Robinson.png   Hunton Andrews Kurth.jpg  Lavin ONeil.png Loeb & Loeb LLP.png    Lowenstein Sandler.jpg

Manning Gross & Massenburg LLP.png McDonalds.png Morgan Lewis_compressed.jpg   Robinson & Cole LLP.png   USAA.jpg   Vannin Capital.png



Thank You to Our Partnering Organizations 

Association for Women Attorneys (New Orleans)

Association of Black Women Attorneys

Austin Bar Association

Cornell Black Lawyers Alumni Network

Diversity & Flexibility Alliance

 Finger Lakes Women's Bar Association

Florida Association for Women Lawyers

Gay and Lesbian Lawyers of Philadelphia

Hillsborough Association for Women Lawyers

Indiana State Bar Association

Iowa Organization of Women Attorneys

Jacksonville Women Lawyer's Association

Lawyers Club of San Diego

Leadership Institute for Women of Color Attorneys

Mid-America Gay and Lesbians Chamber of Commerce

Minority Corporate Counsel Association

Ms. JD


National Asian Pacific American Bar Association 

National Asian Pacific American Women's Forum

National Association of Minority & Women Owned Law Firms

National Association of Women Judges

National Bar Association

New Hampshire Women's Bar Association

New Jersey Women Lawyers Association

New York Women's Bar Association

Santa Barbara Women Lawyers 

Stonewall Law Association of Greater Houston

Westchester Women's Bar Association

Women Lawyers Association of Los Angeles

Women's Bar Association of the District of Columbia 

Women Lawyers Association of Michigan 

 Women's Bar Association of the Maryland

Women's Bar Association 



Thank You to Our Planning Committee

Angela Beranek Brandt
Larson King LLP
St. Paul, MN
Planning Committee Co-Chair
NAWL President

Sarretta McDonough
Los Angeles, CA
Planning Committee Co-Chair
NAWL President-Elect

Maria S. Doughty

Allstate Insurance Company
Northbrook, IL
Sponsorship Co-Chair

Karen Erivona

Prudential Financial
Newark, NJ
Logistics Co-Chair

Ellen L. Farrell

Toyota Motor North America
Plano, TX
Marketing Co-Chair
Amanda Hamilton
Haug Partners LLP
Washington, DC
Publications Co-Chair

Nancy A. Lottinville
Newark, NJ
Logistics Co-Chair
Roslyn Mitchell
Toyota Motor North America
Los Angeles, CA
Marketing Co-Chair
Kristen J. Nesbit
Fisher & Phillips LLP
Los Angeles, CA
Marketing Co-Chair

Courtney Rangen
Sidley Austin LLP
Los Angeles, LA
Sponsorship Co-Chair 
Karen Robinson
Adobe Systems, Inc.
San Francisco, CA
Program Co-Chair
  Chadé Severin
Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher
& Flom LLP
Boston, MA
Program Co-Chair 

Nikki Adame-Winningham

Pfizer Inc.
New York, NY

Elizabeth M. Banzhoff

Perkins Coie LLP
Denver, CO

April Boyer
K&L Gates LLP
Miami, FL
Megan R. Brillault
Beveridge & Diamond, P.C.
New York, NY

Jennifer Brown
Allstate Insurance Company
Northbrook, IL
LTC Mary Card-Mina
U.S. Army
Fairfax, VA
Lindsay G. Carlson
Bowman and Brooke LLP
Torrance, CA

Maria E. Carnicella
Blank Rome LLP
Pittsburgh, PA

Johnna M. Darby
Shaw Fishman Glantz
&Towbin LLC
Wilmington, DE

Susan George
Bressler, Amery & Ross, P.C.
New York, NY
Vivian Grigorians
Sidley Austin LLP
Los Angeles, CA

Claire Hall
Los Angeles, CA
Serena P. Hallowell
Labaton Sucharow
New York, NY
Alexandra Haner
Beck & Thomas, P.C.
New York, NY

Michelle E. Irwin
Haug Partners
New York, NY
Bridget Marsh
Loan Syndications Trading
New York, NY
Patricia Melville
Boies, Schiller & Flexner LLP
Miami, FL
Dacia Meng
Beveridge & Diamond, P.C.
Washington, DC

Michelle Ballard Miller
Miller Law Group
San Francisco, CA
Megan L. Morgan
Beveridge & Diamond, P.C.
Baltimore, MD

Arleen Nand
Minneapolis, MN
Sarah R. Nichols
Ogletree, Deakins, Nash,
Smoak & Stewart, P.C.
San Francisco, CA
Loren L. Pierce
McElroy, Deutch, Mulvaney
& Carpenter LLP
Morristown, NJ

Anu Prasad
Cozen O'Connor
New York, NY

Carolina Ramirez
Vannin Capital LLC
New York, NY

Carolyn Rashby
Miller Law Group
San Francisco, CA

Nila Ray
Fletcher Yoder, P.C.
Houston, TX
Erika V. Selli
Haug Partners LLP
New York, NY
Ora Sheinson
Jade Mountain Partners, LLC
New York, NY

Tori Simmons
Hill Ward Henderson
Tampa, FL
Heather Stenmark
Allstate Insurance Company
Northbrook, IL

Ugo Anne Ukabam
General Mills, Inc.
Minneapolis, MN
Lynne Uniman
Allegaert Berger & Vogel LLP
New York, NY
Cara C. Vecchione
Robinson + Cole LLP
New York, NY

Tess Virmani
Loan Syndications Trading
New York, NY


Iowa Organization of Women Attorneys