Follow Us On

Minnesota joins states with 2 women senators

Bill Salisbury writes, "With the appointment of Lt. Gov. Tina Smith to replace U.S. Sen. Al Franken, Minnesota will join five other states in being represented by two women senators.

Smith and U.S. Sen. Amy Klobuchar will join the current female Senate duos of Diane Feinstein and Kamala Harris of California, Maria Cantwell and Patty Murray of Washington, and Jeanne Shaheen and Margaret Wood Hassan of New Hampshire.

Kansas and Maine previously elected two women to the Senate at the same time. California and New Hampshire have done it twice, earlier with Feinstein and Sen. Barbara Boxer from the former state and Shaheen and Kelly Ayote from the latter."


Recent Stories
When women bring home a bigger slice of the bacon

Saudi Arabia allows women to travel without male guardian's approval

Repeat auction sales of art by women on the rise