Arabella Babb Mansfield Award Recipients

    NAWL's oldest award given by the National Association of Women Lawyers, is given in recognition of professional achievement, positive influence, and valuable contribution to women in the law and in society. The award is named after the first woman admitted to a state Bar in the United States.

    Back to Awards


    Roberta Kaplan

       Roberta Kaplan 
    Founding Partner, Kaplan & Company LLP



       Hon. Amy Klobuchar
    U.S. Senator from Minnesota


    Vanita Gupta.jpg

    Vanita Gupta
    Principal Deputy Assistant Attorney General and
    Head of the U.S. Justice Department's Civil
    Rights Division 


    Chair Mary Jo White Photo_resized.jpg

    Mary Jo White
    Chair, U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission


    2014_Anita Hill c Marty Morris.jpg
    (Image courtesy of Marty Morris, MPM Photography)

       Anita F. Hill
    Brandeis University;
    Cohen Milstein Sellers & Toll


    2013_Resnik c Columbia Law.jpg
    (Image courtesy of Paula Vlodkowsky)

     Judith Resnik
    Arthur Liman Professor of Law, Yale Law School


    2012_Gertner c NAWL.jpg
    (Image courtesy of Paula Vlodkowsky)

    Judge Nancy Gertner
    Professor of Practice, Harvard Law School


    2011_Gorelick c WilmerHale.jpg
    (Image courtesy of WilmerHale)

    Jamie Gorelick
    Partner, Wilmer Cutler Pickering Hale and Dorr LLP


     2010_Kaye c NY Courts.jpg
    (Image courtesy of

    Chief Judge Judith Kaye
    Court of Appeals, State of New York


    2009_Greenberger c Washington Post.jpg
    (Image courtesy of the Washington Post)

    Marcia Greenberger
    National Women's Law Center


    2008_Kagen c Harvard Law.jpg
    (Image courtesy of Harvard Law School)

    Elena Kagan
    Dean, Harvard Law School


    2007_Mathis c ABA.jpg
    (Image courtesy of the American Bar Association)

    Karen J. Mathis
    President, American Bar Association


    2006_Judge Hayden c WLJ.jpg
    (Image courtesy of the Women Lawyers Journal)

    Judge Katharine S. Hayden
    U.S. District Court, District of New Jersey


    2005_Judge Williams c The Chicago Network.jpg
    (Image courtesy of The Chicago Network)

    Judge Ann Claire Williams
    U.S. Court of Appeals, Seventh Circuit


    2004_Justice Sears c. superlawyers.jpg
    (Image courtesy of Stan Kaady, Super Lawyers)

    Presiding Justice Leah Ward Sears
    Georgia Supreme Court


    Senator Kuehl c EnviroReporter com.jpg
    (Image courtesy of

    Senator Sheila Kuehl
    California State Senate


    Ginsburg c ABA.jpg
    (Image courtesy of the American Bar Association)

    Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg
    U.S. Supreme Court


    Chief Justice McMorrow c Chicago Sun Times.jpg
    (Image courtesy of Al Podgorski, Chicago Sun-Times)

     Chief Justice Mary Ann McMorrow
    Illinois Supreme Court


    Sonia Sotomayor c NY TIMES.jpg
    (Image courtesy of NY Times)

    Judge Sonia Sotomayor
    U.S. Court of Appeals, Second Circuit 


    Judge Kravitch c Atlanta Bar Assoc.jpg
    (Image courtesy of the Atlanta Bar Association)

    Judge Phyllis A. Kravitch
    U.S. Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit


    Judge Rovner c Northern District of IL Court Historical Association.jpg
    (Image courtesy of the Northern District of Illinois Court Historical Association)

    Judge Ilana Diamond Rovner
    U.S. Court of Appeals, Seventh Circuit


     Judge Donald c Univ of Minnesota.jpg
    (Image courtesy of the University of Minnesota)

    Judge Bernice Bouie Donald
    U.S. District Court, Western District of Tennessee


    Martha Barnett.jpg
    (Image courtesy of Holland & Knight)

    Martha Barnett
    Tallahassee, Florida


    Back to Awards

    National Association of Women Lawyers®

    American Bar Center MS 17.1, 321 North Clark Street, Chicago, IL 60654
    T: 312.988.6186   F: 312.932.6450