NAWL Awards


    Arabella Babb Mansfield Award 
    The oldest award given by the National Association of Women Lawyers in recognition of professional achievement, positive influence, and valuable contribution to women in the law and in society. The award is named after the first woman admitted to a State Bar in the United States. View past awardees.


    NAWL President’s Award
    Presented by the current president as a special recognition of an organization that has championed policies, programs and procedures to retain, promote and advance women attorneys. View past awardees.


    NAWL Public Service Award
    Presented to a lawyer who has demonstrated throughout her career a dedication and commitment to exemplary public service and social responsibility. View past awardees.


    NAWL Lead by Example Award
    Presented to a male practicing lawyer who is a leader in his law firm, company, government unit or public interest entity and supports the advancement of women. He works in a company, firm or government/public interest unit that demonstrably supports such advancement. In his own department, measurable metrics support the award.  That is, if he is in-house, he has a high percentage of direct female reports, with women in key positions such as head of litigation. In firms, there is a high percentage of women equity partners, women are present in significant numbers on important committees and there are significant numbers of female relationship managers. View past awardees.


    M. Ashley Dickerson Diversity Award
    Named after trailblazer Mahala Ashley Dickerson, NAWL’s first African-American President (1984-85), this award is presented to a lawyer who has promoted and advanced diversity in the legal profession. View past awardees.


    Virginia S. Mueller Outstanding Member Award
    Presented to NAWL members for exemplary contributions to NAWL. View past awardees.


    Leadership Award
    Presented annually at NAWL's Mid-Year Meeting to individuals in the community whose personal contributions have helped advance women lawyers and promote diversity in the legal profession. 
    View past recipients.


    Challenge Award
    Presented annually to an in-house legal department that has either met or adopted hiring, retention, promotion, and general employment practices and procedures designed to strive to meet NAWL's One-Third By 2020 Challenge, to increase the representation of women to one-third of leadership positions in the legal profession and to increase by one-third the diverse female attorneys (including women of color and LBTQI) in every segment of the legal profession. View past recipients.


    Selma Moidel Smith Law Student Writing Competition
    NAWL has established the annual Selma Moidel Smith Law Student Writing Competition to encourage and reward original law student writing on issues concerning women and the law. View 2017 competition information.

    Outstanding Law Student Award
    Presented to the outstanding law student in the graduating class of participating ABA-approved law schools who demonstrated academic achievement, exhibited motivation, tenacity and enthusiasm; contributed to the advancement of women in society; promoted issues and concerns of women in the legal profession; and earned the respect of the dean and law faculty. Method of nomination: varies from law school to law school; can be selected by the dean, award committees, law faculty, campus women's law caucus, or by a competitive application process. View 2019 nomination information.

    National Association of Women Lawyers®

    American Bar Center MS 17.1, 321 North Clark Street, Chicago, IL 60654
    T: 312.988.6186   F: 312.932.6450